14 September 2020

Attention: Minister of Education Hon Chris Hipkins <u>c.hipkins@ministers.govt.nz</u>

Open Letter

Tēnā koe e te Rangatira, Hon Chris Hipkins, Minister of Education

## Māori Professors Call for a National Review of Universities

We, the undersigned as Māori Professors from Aotearoa New Zealand's Universities, write in general support of the senior Māori academics at the University of Waikato who made a protected disclosure regarding allegations of serious wrongdoing at the University of Waikato.

We endorse the general observations made in public, principally concerning the Crown's failure to protect Māori staff and students in Universities and, consequently, its failure to uphold the principles of te Tiriti o Waitangi.

We call for a nation-wide review of the University tertiary sector for the purpose of committing to, and accelerating with urgency, a tertiary sector that honours te Tiriti o Waitangi.

We call for this nation-wide review to commence now with urgency.

Signed

Professor Jacinta Ruru, Professor of Law, University of Otago

Professor Margaret Mutu, Professor of Māori Studies, University of Auckland

Professor Jo Baxter, Professor of Hauora Māori, University of Otago

Professor Antony Braithwaite, Professor of Pathology, University of Otago

Emeritus Professor John Broughton, University of Otago

Professor Chris Cunningham, Professor of Māori Health, Massey University

Professor Meihana Durie, Professor of Māori Knowledge, Massey University

Professor Jarrod Haar, Professor of Human Resource Management, Auckland University of Technology

Professor Rawinia Higgins, Victoria University of Wellington

Professor Brendan Hokowhitu, Professor of Māori and Indigenous Studies, University of Waikato

Professor Huia Jahnke, Professor of Māori and Indigenous Education, Massey University

Professor Robert Jahnke, Professor of Maori Visual Arts, Massey University

Professor Merata Kawharu, University of Otago

Professor Joanna Kidman, Professor of Māori Education, Victoria University of Wellington

Professor Tahu Kukutai, Professor of Demography, University of Waikato

Professor Miles Lamare, Professor of Marine Science, University of Otago

Professor Bev Lawton, Professor of Women's Health, Victoria University of Wellington

Professor David Lont, Professor of Accountancy & Finance, University of Otago

Professor Angus Macfarlane, Professor of Māori Research, University of Canterbury

Professor Tracey McIntosh, Professor of Indigenous Studies, University of Auckland

Professor Rangi Matamua, Professor of Māori and Indigenous Studies, University of Waikato

Professor Hirini Matunga, Lincoln University

Professor Helen Moewaka Barnes, Massey University

Professor Linda Waimarie Nikora, Professor of Indigenous Studies, University of Auckland

Professor Suzanne Pitama, Professor of Hauora Māori, University of Otago

Professor Regan Potangaroa Professor of Building Science Victoria University of Wellington

Professor Suzanne Purdy, Professor of Psychology, University of Auckland

Professor Papaarangi Reid, Professor of Māori Health, University of Auckland

Professor Nicolette Sheridan, Professor of Nursing, Massey University

Distinguished Professor Graham Hingangaroa Smith, Massey University

Professor Huhana Smith, Professor of Art, Massey University

Professor Pou Temara, Professor Reo and Tikanga, University of Waikato.

Professor Linda Tuhiwai Smith, Professor of Māori and Indigenous Studies, University of Waikato

Professor Chellie Spiller, Professor of Leadership and Management, University of Waikato

Emeritus Professor Ngahuia Te Awekotuku, University of Waikato

Professor Michelle Thompson-Fawcett, Professor of Geography, University of Otago

Professor Denise Wilson, Professor of Māori Health, Auckland University of Technology