Māori of the Year 2012

Several Ngā Pae o te Māramatanga (NPM) researchers were recognised in the Marae Investigates Ngā Toa Whakaihuwaka (Māori of the Year) 2012 awards, as people who have uplifted the mana of Māori in 2012. The special show aired on Waitangi Day 2013 on TVNZ.

Professor Linda Tuhiwai Smith was the winner in the Māturanga-Education category. Professor Smith was a founding Joint Director of NPM and is the Principal Investigator on our project “In pursuit of the possible: Indigenous well-being – A study of indigenous hope, meaning and transformation”. Nominated in the same category was Professor Sir Mason Durie, who leads another NPM project, “Fostering te pā harakeke: Advancing Healthy and Prosperous Families of Mana.

Associate Professor Cindy Kiro won the Ratonga Hapori – Community Service category for being a passionate champion of children and health inequalities. She was a lead author of the Trends in wellbeing for Māori families 1981–2006 report, commissioned by NPM and published in 2010.

In other categories, NPM researchers Associate Professors Poia Rewi and Rawinia Higgins were nominated in the Reo-Tikanga category, for their work on our three year project "Te Pae Tawhiti: Te reo Māori". MAI Journal Board Member Dr Ocean Mercier was nominated in the Te Ao Hangarau-Science/Technology/Innovation category. Congratulations to all.