Mā te huruhuru ka rere te manu

On Tuesday 5 July, Te Taura Whiri i te Reo Māori (TTWh) and Ngā Pae o te Māramatanga (NPM) celebrated Te Wiki o te Reo Māori with an important and unique celebration at Waipapa Marae.

Recent recipients of the ‘Kia Ita’ Scholarships, which support the growth and advancement of Māori language researchers, were presented with their awards and  each of them provided a short outline of their projects and research. 

Te Taura Whiri i te Reo Māori and Ngā Pae o te Māramatanga established the ‘Kia Ita’ Scholarship last year and in November awarded the inaugural 2015 round of the scholarships to five Māori students.

  • Natasha Koia (Ngāti Porou)
  • Joanne McNaughton (Te Arawa)
  • Debbie Rahurahu (Ngāti Raukawa, Ngāti Tuwharetoa, Ngāti Whaoa)
  • Finney Davis (Ngāti Awa, Ngāi Tūhoe, Te Arawa)
  • Tumatawhero Colin Tihi (Ngāi Tūhoe)

Valued at $10,000 each, this new scholarship programme is for Masters study and to complete a thesis/dissertation specifically on Māori language revitalisation, or, on a thesis on any subject but written in te reo Māori. The programme and partnership is designed to support postgraduate study at Masters level, and seeks to enhance the growth and development of te reo Māori within the research space.

By supporting the advancement of Māori language revitalisation and increasing the number of Māori Masters graduates throughout New Zealand, the scholarships seek to reaffirm the value of Māori led research to ensure the potential of whānau, hapū, iwi and communities, to grow their capacity, and to support their efforts in language planning and language development. The ‘Kia Ita’ Scholarships embed Māori language, values and practices into academic research and activities and demonstrate the joint commitment of TTWh and NPM to te reo and to research.

At the Waipapa event, the 2015 recipients were also joined by the recently announced 2016 'Kia Ita' Scholarship recipents.

  • Ms Angelia (Anahera) Scott (Ngāti Kahungunu)
  • Hinerangi Miriata Wiri (Te Arawa, Ngāi Tuhoe, Ngāti Paoa)
  • Te Kewena White (Ngāi Tūhoe)
  • Teresa (Pirihira) Denise Bowen (Ngāti Porou Te Arawa)
  • Hema Temara (Ngāi Tūhoe)

NPM was delighted to be awarding these unique scholarships, and to be able to co-host with Te Taura Whiri i te Reo Māori an event that recognises the students’ achievements, while also sharing the research and focus with a wider audience and our communities.

The ceremony and celebration of these unique and important scholarships is important, and during Te Wiki o te Reo Māori profiles the ongoing and intensive revitalisation efforts we are all engaged in, as well as the diversity and excellence of our emerging Maori scholars from around the country.

View coverage of this event on Te Karere (TVNZ) and Te Kaea (Māori Television) below: