New Board for Ngā Pae o te Māramatanga

Ngā Pae o te Māramatanga’s (NPM) new Board for its Centre of Research Excellence (CoRE) contract through the Tertiary Education Commission, held its inaugural meeting on Wednesday, March 23rd to formally establish itself, and will now oversee NPM going forward and assist in achieving our vision of “Māori Leading New Zealand into the Future’.
Six members of the Board were selected through Te Tira Takimano, the autonomous Māori Tertiary Education and Research Electoral College (consisting of our 21 formal research partner institutions), with the remaining two members selected directly by NPM’s Host institution, the University of Auckland.
This eight member Board is skills-based, and will provide oversight of the performance of Ngā Pae o te Māramatanga on behalf of the 21 collaborating partners.
The new members are:
- Sir Tīpene O'Regan, Chair (Ngāi Tahu)
- Professor Rāwinia Higgins (Tūhoe) - Victoria University of Wellington
- Professor Pare Keiha (Te Aitanga-a-Māhaki, Rongowhakaata) - Auckland University of Technology
- Associate Professor Amokura Kāwharu (Ngāpuhi, Ngāti Whatua) - University of Auckland
- Dr Jane Kitson (Ngāi Tahu, Ngāti Mamoe, Waitaha) – Kitson Consulting Limited
- Mr Te Manahau (Scotty) Morrison (Ngāti Whakaue) - TVNZ
- Ms Te Haumihiata Mason (Ngāi Tūhoe, Te Arawa, Ngāti Pango)
- Professor Jim Metson - University of Auckland
At the meeting our Two Year Plan was outlined to the Board, along with performance expectations and monitoring.This is a significant milestone in the new phase and evolution of NPM as New Zealand’s Māori CoRE.
NPM’s Co-Director Jacinta Ruru commented that she was delighted to have the new Board formally established and looked forward to working with them over the years ahead, welcoming their future contributions and oversight of the new NPM Contract.
The Board will meet formally again in May in Wellington, as well as with our research partner institutions at NPM's hui-ā-tau (annual general meeting).