NPM Researchers Recognised by Royal Society Te Apārangi

NPM congratulates our affiliated researchers who were acknowledged by the Royal Society Te Apārangi at the RSNZ 2019 Research Honours evening held in Dunedin on Thursday 17 October.

Dr Ocean Ripeka Mercier (Ngāti Porou) was awarded the 2019 Callaghan Medal for her pioneering work to engage audiences in science and mātauranga Māori,

Dr Anne-Marie Jackson (Ngāti Whātua, Ngāpuhi, Ngāti Wai, Ngāti Kahu o Whangaroa, Te Roroa) received the Royal Society Te Apārangi Te Kōpūnui Māori Research Award for forging new knowledge at the interface of mātauranga Māori and the physical sciences.

Dr Lisa Te Morenga (Ngāpuhi, Ngāti Whātua Ōrākei, Te Uri o Hau, Te Rarawa) was awarded the Hamilton Award, the Royal Society Te Apārangi Early Career Research Excellence Award for Science, for providing irrefutable evidence that sugar in the diet contributes to weight gain, resulting in changes to international nutrition policy.

Dr Matire Harwood (Ngāpuhi) was awarded the HRC Te Tohu Rapuora Award for her outstanding leadership and contribution to Māori health.

Ex-NPM Board Chair Sir Tīpene O'Regan (Ngāi Tahu) also became an Honorary Companion of the Royal Society of New Zealand (CRSNZ) for outstanding leadership and eminent contributions to promoting and advancing science, technology and humanities in NZ.

Ka mau te wehi!