MAI Logo

The Māori and Indigenous programme (MAI) 

This national Māori and Indigenous (MAI) Post-Graduate Network and Programme comprises sites located at all New Zealand universities throughout Aotearoa New Zealand.

Te Kupenga o MAI incorporates a Māori values-based approach to support and nurture doctoral-level training providing opportunities for Māori students to participate in culturally meaningful study and research opportunities within tertiary institutions to increase the numbers of highly trained Māori researchers, and to facilitate the development of excellent new future leaders and policy-makers.

About MAI | Connect with MAI | Events | Manaaki | MAI Conference 

MAI Groups

  • Northland

    The University of Auckland (Whangarei campus)

    MAI ki Te Tai Tokerau is hosted by The Tai Tokerau Campus, The University of Auckland, Whangarei, Northland. 

    We invite Māori and Indigenous scholars who are engaged in doctoral and pre-doctoral study living in Northland to be a part of this network.

  • Auckland

    The University of Auckland

    MAI ki Tāmaki is hosted by Te Tumu Herenga | Libraries and Learning Services at Waipapa Taumata Rau | University of Auckland, and is lead by Abigail McClutchie (MAI site coordinator) and Dr Te Kawehau Hoskins (academic head).

  • Auckland

    Auckland University of Technology (AUT)

    MAI ki Aronui is open to all Māori and Indigenous students studying on a research pathway.  We currently support scholars enrolled in master’s and PhD research programmes and continue to support and be supported by a number of our MAI ki Aronui alumni (some of whom are early career academics).  We welcome scholars from both AUT and other universities to join us at our h

  • Auckland


    Mai ki Wairaka is based at Te Whare Wānanga o Wairaka (Unitec).

  • Waikato

    University of Waikato

    MAI ki Waikato seeks to develop and nurture a diverse community of Māori and Indigenous scholars across all disciplines. MAI ki Waikato offers a stimulating and nurturing environment for both enrolled and prospective Māori And Indigenous doctoral students from any tertiary institution.

  • New Zealand

    Te Wānanga o Aotearoa

  • East Coast

    Eastern Institute of Technology

  • Manawatū

    Massey University

    (Massey University)

    Office of Deputy Vice Chancellor Māori

    Open to all Māori students enrolled or interested in enrolling in a doctoral programme at Massey University. Check out our Facebook page for up to date information on what’s happening at Massey University 

  • Wellington

    Victoria University of Wellington

    For students in the Wellington region (enrolment can be at any institution) MAI ki Pōneke is based at Te Kawa a Māui, The School of Māori Studies.

  • Canterbury

    University of Canterbury

    Te Punenga is the name given for the Māori Postgraduate programme offered at Te Whare Wānanga o Waitaha (UC). This name was chosen in 2015 because the word Punenga reflects the level of study our ākonga Māori postgraduates. Te Punenga are to encourage whakawhanaungatanga between ākonga, and enhance your academic skills, and support your personal development needs.

  • Lincoln

    Lincoln University

    Open to all Māori and Indigenous students enrolled or interested in enrolling in a doctoral or pre doctoral programme at Lincoln University.

    In 2012, Lincoln hosted the MAI Doctoral Conference. The conference was held from November the 30th to December 2nd, at Lincoln campus.

  • Otago

    University of Otago

    Open to all students in the Otago area (enrolment can be at any institution). The Coordinator is based at the University of Otago.

    For a list of events, services, links and contacts click here